As The Sun Falls - Kaamos (CD)


Catalogue: TGR-012
Format: Album
Type: Digipack CD
Genre: Melodic Death Metal
Country: Finland
Release date: 3 May 2024
Label: Theogonia Records

In stock


Introducing “Kaamos” by AS THE SUN FALLS – an immersive journey into the depths of Finnish melancholy and the enigmatic Polar night.

Embark on a sonic odyssey with “Kaamos“, where the chilling beauty of Finnish melancholy meets the raw power of melodic death metal. Each track is a testament to the genre’s signature blend of haunting melodies, relentless aggression, and introspective lyricism, capturing the essence of the Arctic landscape and the depths of human emotion.

Crafted amidst the ethereal beauty of their Finnish homeland, “Kaamos” promises to transport listeners into a realm of icy darkness and haunting melodies. Drawing inspiration from the mystical period between December and January known as Kaamos, where the sun remains hidden below the horizon, yet the landscape is bathed in surreal blueish and violet Arctic lights, AS THE SUN FALLS‘ latest album captures the essence of this unique phenomenon.

Featuring eleven tracks of relentless sonic brutality, “Kaamos” explores themes of sorrow, grief, and the deepest corners of the soul. From the haunting opener “Indrøø” to the atmospheric title track “Kaamos“, each composition is a mesmerizing journey through the frozen landscapes of Finland and the depths of the soul.

From the thunderous riffs to the soaring solos, the music of “Kaamos” delivers a visceral experience that resonates with fans of melodic death metal worldwide. With its dynamic compositions and evocative atmosphere, the album showcases AS THE SUN FALLS‘ mastery of their craft and their ability to transport listeners to another realm.

The album boasts guest appearances from renowned artists, adding layers of haunting beauty to AS THE SUN FALLS‘ captivating sound. Gogo Melone lends her ethereal clean vocals to “Through Sorrow and Grief“, while Kari Olli adds his haunting voice to “Into the Shadows“. Additionally, all keyboards on “Kaamos” were recorded by George Tzahristas, further enriching the atmospheric tapestry of the album.

With artwork and layout by the talented Gogo Melone and mixed and mastered by Guillaume Schappacher at Gravity Sound Prod. Studios, “Kaamos” is poised to captivate and enthrall listeners worldwide.

Prepare to be engulfed by the sonic tempest of “Kaamos“. AS THE SUN FALLS invites you to embrace the darkness and immerse yourself in the deep-rooted melancholy of the North. Experience the chilling beauty of “Kaamos” – available from May 3rd, 2024, via Theogonia Records.

01. Indrøø
02. Among the Stars
03. Black Lakes
04. In Forlorn Times
05. The Wanderer
06. Aurora
07. Through Sorrow and Grief (feat. Gogo Melone)
08. Into the Shadows (feat. Kari Olli)
09. Silver Shining
10. The Great Cold
11. Kaamos

Jani Berney Mikkänen – Guitars, Vocals
Lauri Unkila – Guitars
Oskar Englund – Bass
Paul Rytkönen – Drums
Mikko Voutilainen – Vocals (Studio session musician)